Book Week 2016: Short List: Older Readers

This is the short-list for the books nominated in the CBCA Book Week 2016: Australia – Story Country…As always I have broken the posts down into their categories to help you find what you need starting with the Older Readers books.

Book of the Year: Older Readers

Title: The Flywheel
Author: Erin Gough
ISBN: 9781742978178
Summary: Seventeen-year-old Delilah’s crazy life is about to get crazier. Ever
since her father took off overseas, she’s been struggling to run the
family’s cafe – The Flywheel – without him and survive high
school. But after a misjudged crush on one of the cool girls, she’s
become the school punchline as well. With all that’s on her plate she
barely has time for her favourite distraction – spying on the beautiful
Rosa, who dances flamenco at the tapas bar across the road.


Title: The Pause
Author: John Larkin
ISBN: 9780857981707

Declan seems to have it all: a family that loves him, friends he’s known
for years, a beautiful girlfriend he would go to the ends of the earth
for. But there’s something in Declan’s past that just won’t go away,
that pokes and scratches at his thoughts when he’s at his most
vulnerable. Declan feels as if nothing will take away that pain that he
has buried deep inside for so long.

So he makes the only decision he thinks he has left: the decision to end
it all. Or does he? As the train approaches and Declan teeters at the
edge of the platform, two versions of his life are revealed. In one, Declan watches as his body is destroyed and the lives of those who loved him unravel. In the other, Declan pauses before he jumps. And this makes all the difference. One moment. One pause. One whole new life.

Title: Freedom Ride
Author: Sue Lawson
ISBN: 9781925126365
Summary: Robbie knows bad things happen in Walgaree. But it’s nothing to do with
him. That’s just the way the Aborigines have always been treated. In the
summer of 1965 racial tensions in the town are at boiling point, and
something headed Walgaree’s way will blow things apart. It’s time for
Robbie to take a stand. Nothing will ever be the same.


Title: Cloudwish
Author: Fiona Wood
ISBN: 9781743533123
Summary: For Vân Uoc Phan, fantasies fell into two categories: nourishing, or
pointless. Daydreaming about Billy Gardiner. Vân Uoc doesn’t believe in fairies, zombies, vampires, Father Christmas –
or magic wishes. She believes in keeping a low profile: real life will
start when school finishes.
But when she attracts the attention of Billy Gardiner, she finds herself in an unwelcome spotlight.


Title: Inbetween Days
Author: Vikki Wakefield

ISBN: 9781922182364
Summary: At seventeen, Jacklin Bates is all grown up. She’s dropped out of
school. She’s living with her runaway sister, Trudy, and she’s in
secret, obsessive love with Luke, who doesn’t love her back. She’s stuck
in Mobius—a dying town with the macabre suicide forest its only
attraction—stuck working in the roadhouse and babysitting her boss’s
demented father.


Title: A Single Stone
Author: Meg McKinlay
ISBN:  9781925081701
Summary: Every girl dreams of being part of the line – the chosen seven who
tunnel deep into the mountain to find the harvest. No work is more
important. Jena is the leader of the line – strong, respected, reliable.
And – as all girls must be – she is small; her years of training have
seen to that. It is not always easy but it is the way of the things. And
so a girl must wrap her limbs, lie still, deny herself a second bowl of
stew. Or a first. But what happens when one tiny discovery makes Jena
question everything she has ever known? What happens when moving a
single stone changes everything?


What do you think?